Congratulations to Trinity Cheerleaders!
JV and Vasity teams at Trinity

Honored at SMU Summer Cheer Camp

Trinity Cheerleading TeamThe Trinity cheerleaders recently attended SMU summer camp. Both squads were very successful! The varsity squad received "Performance Top Team" in the co-ed division and brought home 6 superior ribbons, the stunt excellence award, a bid to nationals, and a spirit stick. The JV squad received "Performance Top Team" in the small JV division, champion chant, 3 superior and 3 excellent ribbons, the herkie spirit award, a nationals bid, and a spirit stick! Congratulations also to the following for being named All-American Cheerleaders: Kristina Smith, Brittany Hamilton, Michelle Kayfus, Jessi Canfield, Ashley DelaHoussaye, Pierce Williamson, Megan Cush, and Mackenzie King.

Chris Johnson and Justin Hayes also came to camp as our mascots for the first time. They both made All-American mascot and Justin was named "top mascot" in the varsity division!

6/24/2008: Submitted by Alicia Dickerson

Congratulations to 2008-2009 Harwood Cheerleaders!
8th and 9th grade at Harwood JH

Honored at NCA Cheer Camp

The Harwood Junior High cheerleaders won the Performance Top Team Award and Herkie Team Award for the Junior High Division and a Bid for Nationals at the NCA summer camp at SMU. The Performance Top Team Award is given to the team that exemplifies the best cheerleading technique, skill incorporation, and performance ability. The Herkie Team trophy, a prestigious award named after the father of cheerleading, is awarded to the squad that shows true team spirit, unity, and leadership throughout the week. Bids for NCA National Events are awarded to squads who have exemplified positive qualities as a team.

Additionally, the squad earned a Spirit Stick at the closing of all four days of camp for the superior spirit and enthusiasm they demonstrated throughout the day. They received four superior evaluation ribbons and a Team Award Certificate. Team Awards are voted on by other teams who select a squad in their evaluation group that demonstrated the qualities of an ideal team. They also received the S.P.O.T. Award for displaying excellent technique in safety, spotting, and stunt technique during their stunt classes.

McKenzie Brown, Ashley Pritchard, Taylor Savage, Lorraine Shearer, and Whitney Smith were selected to be All-American Nominees for their superior cheerleading technique. Harwood's mascot, Kellar Billingsley, received both the All-American Mascot Award and the Best All-Around Mascot Trophy for the Junior High Division. All-American Mascot is awarded to the mascots that display superior qualities in characterization, pantomime, and spirit. The Best All-Around Trophy is given to the mascot who has shown the most superior standards throughout the entire camp. Kellar received the Mascot History Award Certificate for creating the best childrenÆs story on the history of his mascot, the Blackhawk. During camp, Kellar also received a superior evaluation ribbon and a Spirit Stick award. The Harwood Cheerleaders and Mascot are coached by Amanda Collins and Amy Keller.

6/19/2008: Submitted by Leslie Brown

Congratulations to L.D. Bell Cheerleaders!
11th and 12th grade at L.D. Bell HS

Honored at NCA Cheer Camp

Bell Cheerleading TeamThe L.D. Bell Cheerleaders won several team and individual honors at the June 5-8 NCA Cheer Camp at SMU, including:
Spirit Stick
Herkie Team award
Champion Chant
Game Day Top Team
All American Nominees: Cody, Ashleigh, Demi, Michaela, Amanda S., Jennifer, Brittany, and Amy
All American: Cody, Ashleigh and Demi
Top Cheerleader: Cody
Evaluation Ribbons: 4 blue and 2 red
Safety in Stunting Award

6/18/2008: Submitted by Sharon Huecker

Congratulations to Audrey Branscum!
11th grade at L.D. Bell HS

Selected to All-State Softball Team

Audrey was picked to be a member of the 2008 5A Texas High School Softball All-State Team

5/29/2008: Submitted by Coach Ray Fuller

Congratulations to Barrett Nelson, Shannon Kelley, and Nathan Peace!
seniors at Trinity High School

Received Harwood JH PTA Scholarships

The Harwood PTA has announced the recipients of the 2008 Megan Newstrom and Jay Hendrickson Memorial Scholarships. Trinity High School seniors Barrett Nelson and Shannon Kelley are the recipients of the Jay Hendrickson Memorial Scholarship. Because the Class of 2008 would have been Jay’s graduating class, two scholarships are being sponsored this year in his honor. Nathan Peace, also a senior at Trinity High School, is the recipient of the Megan Newstrom Memorial Scholarship. These $500 scholarships honor the memory of two young students who lost their battle with cancer just as they were entering 7th grade at Harwood Junior High.

Graduating HEB ISD seniors who attended Harwood Junior High are eligible to apply. A recipient is one who demonstrates positive character traits and good citizenship through school, work, community, athletic, religious, and other related activities, while maintaining a high level academic standard, and whose life and future goals adhere to the spirit of the person for whom the scholarship memorializes.

“We are extremely proud of this year’s recipients of the Jay Hendrickson and Megan Newstrom Memorial Scholarships and feel all three exemplify the spirit of these two awards”, said Sandy Mezanazi, Harwood PTA President.

5/27/2008: Submitted by Lisa McMillan

Congratulations to Audrey Branscum!
11th grade at L.D. Bell HS

Elected MVP for District 7-5A Softball

Audrew has been elected most valuable player in softball for District 7-5A. She was also the top batter in the area with an average of .560.

5/22/2008: Submitted by Carolyn Wright

Next Page

Read below to find out who just won an award, got the highest grade in class, or was a finalist in a competition for the school year! Perhaps it's an award or honor received outside of school. We want to know about all of the achievements earned by HEB ISD students and staff! Do you know a winner that should be added to this list? Or nothing wrong with a little tooting of your own horn! Let us know about your own high achievements! Winners are listed in the order they were submitted. The most recent submission is the first entry.

Complete the Online Form to have your winner added to the HEB Winners Circle!

Next Page