Return to Headlines

Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Board of Trustees Named 2020 Texas Outstanding School Board

From a press release on the Texas Association of School Administrators website.

AUSTIN—The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) named the Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Board of Trustees the 2020 Outstanding School Board Oct. 2 during the virtual TASA|TASB Convention. Since 1971, the TASA School Board Awards program has honored outstanding Texas school boards that have demonstrated commitment to their students and to their communities. The program is sponsored this year by Stantec.

The HEB ISD school board was chosen from among five finalists that were interviewed by a committee of Texas school superintendents. The committee’s decision was based on several criteria, including the board’s support for educational performance, educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives, commitment to a code of ethics, and placement of the welfare of children served by the school system above other motives.

The committee described the HEB ISD Board as purposeful and methodical, and was particularly impressed by the district’s outstanding student programs, commitment to quality, formalized policymaking process, and the fact that the board is “part of the fabric of the community.” The board’s advocacy efforts at the local and state level to benefit all students also impressed the committee.

“The HEB ISD school board exemplifies the district motto of ‘different by design,’ and continuous improvement is truly their mission,” said Art Cavazos, superintendent of Harlingen CISD and chair of the TASA School Board Awards Committee. “HEB trustees have clearly internalized the goals of the district and are united in ensuring that every student is structured for success. Their passion and commitment is evident.”

The HEB ISD Board of Trustees was nominated for the award by Superintendent Steven Chapman. “These seven individuals are focused on maximizing academic achievement, increasing effective and efficient operations, and building lasting relationships with business and community leaders to ensure that HEB ISD students are well-prepared for the global marketplace,” said Chapman.

HEB ISD, located in the heart of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex in Education Service Center Region 11, serves more than 23,700 students. The district’s board of trustees was also selected as a finalist for Outstanding School Board in 1983 and 1974.

In addition to the HEB ISD board, the other four finalists, or “Honor Boards,” were recognized at the TASA|TASB Convention: Mesquite ISD, Region 10; Sheldon ISD, Region 4; Temple ISD, Region 12; and Tornillo ISD, Region 19.
The Regional Honor Boards, also honored at the virtual convention, were: Calhoun County ISD, Region 3; Dumas ISD, Region 16; McAllen ISD, Region 1; Pflugerville ISD, Region 13; San Angelo ISD, Region 15; San Elizario ISD, Region 19; Throckmorton Collegiate ISD, Region 9; Vidor ISD, Region 5; and Whitehouse ISD, Region 7.

TASA is the professional association for Texas school superintendents and other administrators. The mission of the organization, which focuses on professional learning, advocacy and member engagement, is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.


HEB ISD Board of Trustees